ScorecardWorth It?HistoryDatabaseDistress Signals
Casual DiningItem 19: ✗ Not DisclosedHigh Confidence · 83/100FDD data: 2025 · Fresh

Red Robin Restaurants Franchise Cost and Profit

FDD-based startup cost, franchise fee, revenue, profit, SBA default rate, and investment risk signals for Red Robin Restaurants.

Based on 2025 FDD · 2 filings in corpus

FranchiseIQ Score
35
D
High Risk
Composite score from 3 risk dimensions. Click for breakdown ↓
Full analysis unlocks:
✓ Cash-on-Cash return
✓ Payback period
✓ SBA default rate
✓ Red flags assessment
✓ Comparable franchises
Unlock 10 Reports — Start with Red Robin Restaurants →Already have access? Sign in →

Cost and profit at a glance

How much does a Red Robin Restaurants franchise cost and make?

Based on FDDIQ's FDD corpus, a Red Robin Restaurants franchise shows an estimated initial investment of $2.7M – $5.8M. The franchisor does not provide enough Item 19 data for a clean profit estimate. Use the links below to compare the cost, revenue, SBA loan history, and ROI against other franchises before you request the full FDD.

Startup Cost
$2.7M – $5.8M
Total initial investment
Profit / Revenue
Item 19 not disclosed
FDD Item 19 signal
Payback Signal
Estimate unavailable
Modeled return metric
SBA Default Rate
No matched SBA history
Loan repayment history
Compare franchise costs →Estimate franchise ROI →Check SBA default rates →Browse Casual Dining franchises →Compare similar franchises →

Quick fee read: $35K franchise fee · 9% royalty/ad burden. These figures are directional screening data, not a substitute for reading the current FDD and speaking with existing operators.

Free decision snapshot

Before you talk to Red Robin Restaurants, check the numbers buyers usually miss.

The unlocked report ties this brand's FDD disclosures to SBA outcomes, Item 20 movement, fee load, missing-data labels, and buyer assumptions — so you can decide whether this is worth deeper diligence.

FDD disclosure qualitySBA default outcomesItem 20 unit movementFee/cost stressComparable brands
Unlock 10 reports — start with Red Robin RestaurantsView sample report first

$19.99 one-time · Includes 10 reports · 7-day satisfaction guarantee

Red Robin Restaurants Franchise Analysis

Red Robin Restaurants requires a total initial investment of $2.7M to $5.8M (midpoint approximately $4.2M), with an initial franchise fee of $35K. The ongoing fee burden is 9% (5% royalty plus 4% advertising fund). This is below the industry average of approximately 15.5%, leaving more margin for the operator.

Red Robin Restaurants does not publicly disclose Item 19 financial performance data in their FDD. This is a significant transparency gap — franchisees must rely on validation calls and personal research rather than audited financial representations. Prospective buyers should demand current unit-level financials from existing operators during due diligence.

Red Robin Restaurants operates approximately 92 franchised units. However, the brand has been contracting with a 9.3% net unit decline, which may signal franchisee dissatisfaction, territory saturation, or competitive pressure.

Prospective franchisees should verify all figures against the most recent FDD, conduct validation calls with multiple existing franchisees, and consult with a franchise attorney before signing any agreement.

Analysis based on 2025 FDD filing. FDDIQ Editorial Team · Methodology

Total Investment Range$2.7M – $5.8M
MinMid: $4.2MMax

Key Metrics

Franchise Fee
$35K
Royalty Rate
5%
Ad Fund Rate
4%
Total Burden
9.0%
Royalty + ad fund
Units (2023)
92
-9 vs prior yr
Net Unit Growth
↓ -9.3%
Year over year
Net Closure Rate
8.9%
From FDD Item 20
Cash-on-Cash Return
~8–15%
Annual estimated return
Payback Period
~5–12 yrs
Break-even timeline
SBA Default Rate
~3–8%
Fewer than 50 loans on record
Median Revenue
~$800K–$2M
Item 19 disclosed
Red Flags Assessment
HIGH: Missing Item 19 disclosure · MEDIUM: Significant unit decline
HIGH ×1MED ×1
Premium Data

Unlock Full Franchise Analysis

Get cash-on-cash return, payback period, SBA default rate, and red flag details for Red Robin Restaurants.

CoC ReturnPayback PeriodSBA Default RateMedian RevenueEbitda MarginRisk Score
Unlock 10 Reports - $19.99

Or sign in if you already purchased

Estimated using sector-average margins. Actual franchise economics vary by location, operator, and market conditions.

Red Robin Restaurants vs. Casual Dining Average

MetricRed Robin RestaurantsCasual Dining Avg
SBA Default Rate - 7.2%
Cash-on-Cash Return - 15.5%
Total Investment$4.2M$250K

Industry averages based on FranchiseIQ corpus benchmarks. ▲ = better than avg, ▼ = worse.

Red Robin Restaurants Franchise FAQs

Common questions buyers ask about Red Robin Restaurants, answered from FDD and SBA data.

How much does a Red Robin Restaurants franchise cost?

The total initial investment for a Red Robin Restaurants franchise ranges from $2.7M to $5.8M, according to their Franchise Disclosure Document.

What are Red Robin Restaurants franchise royalty fees?

Red Robin Restaurants charges a 5% royalty fee on gross sales.

What is the Red Robin Restaurants franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee for Red Robin Restaurants is $35,000.

How many Red Robin Restaurants franchise locations are there?

There are approximately 92 Red Robin Restaurants franchise locations as of 2023.

How much profit does a Red Robin Restaurants franchise make?

Profit data for Red Robin Restaurants is disclosed in FDD Item 19 (Financial Performance Representation). Check their most recent Franchise Disclosure Document for current figures.

What is the SBA loan default rate for Red Robin Restaurants?

SBA loan default rate data for Red Robin Restaurants is not currently available in the SBA database.

Is a Red Robin Restaurants franchise worth it?

Whether a Red Robin Restaurants franchise is worth it depends on total startup cost, royalty burden, FDD Item 19 economics, SBA loan performance, and local operator execution. FDDIQ compares these signals against similar franchises so buyers can screen the opportunity before paying for diligence.

Similar Franchises · Casual Dining

Another Broken Egg Cafe
Limited Data
$802K–$1.6M
Fala Bar
Limited Data
$123K–$271K
PAINT Nail Bar
Limited Data
$218K–$756K
Another Broken Egg Cafe
$802K – $1.6M
Fala Bar
$123K – $271K
PAINT Nail Bar
$218K – $756K
BMB Franchising Services INC DBA Bombshells Restaurant Bar And Bombshells -2022
$1.7M – $3.1M

Related Blog Posts

Franchisee Bankruptcy Red Flags: 8 Warning Signs in the FDD (2026) | FranchiseIQ

8 quantifiable FDD red flags that predict franchisee distress — declining units, high SBA default...

2026-04-11 · General
Franchise Failure Rates by Industry: SBA Default Data, Risk Rankings & Red Flags (2026) | FranchiseIQ

Which franchise industries have the highest failure rates? SBA default data across 57,000+ loans ...

2026-04-09 · General
FDD Red Flags: 9 Warning Signs to Spot Before Buying a Franchise (2026) | FranchiseIQ

9 FDD red flags to check before signing a franchise agreement — Item 3 litigation patterns, Item ...

2026-03-21 · General
FDD Red Flags: 10 Warning Signs Every Franchise Buyer Must Know (2026) | FranchiseIQ

FDD red flags: the warning signs in franchise disclosure documents that predict failure — item-by...

2026-03-16 · General
FDD Item 3: Litigation Red Flags to Watch For (2026) | FranchiseIQ

How to read FDD Item 3 (Litigation): which lawsuits signal systemic franchisor problems, patterns...

2026-04-03 · General
📬 Get notified when Red Robin Restaurants changes fees
Free. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Questions to Ask Before You Sign

5 data-driven questions every Red Robin Restaurants franchise buyer should ask.

  1. 1.What is Red Robin Restaurants's SBA default rate compared to its competitors?Learn more →
  2. 2.Does Red Robin Restaurants disclose Item 19 financial performance representations?Learn more →
  3. 3.What is the net unit growth trend over the past 3 years?Learn more →
  4. 4.What is the franchisee termination and transfer rate per Item 20?Learn more →
  5. 5.What do the FDD litigation disclosures (Item 3) reveal about franchisor legal history?Learn more →
Generate attorney questions for Red Robin Restaurants →Validation call guide →
Data sourced from publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Documents (FDDs) submitted to state franchise regulators. SBA loan data from public SBA 7(a) records. Information reflects the most recent FDD filing in our database and may not reflect current terms. Always verify with the franchisor's current FDD before making any investment decision. Not legal or financial advice.

Explore More

All Casual Dining FranchisesLow-Cost FranchisesIndustry BenchmarksCasual Dining Franchise Costs ExplainedRoyalty Fees: Average Rates by IndustryFranchise Red Flags Checklist